Category : Uncategorized

The first ever FIFA fan award has been won by Borussia Dortmund and Liverpool supporters. Their joint rendition of You’ll Never Walk Alone, sung before their Europa League clash last season, beat off competition from the Iceland supporters in Euro 2016, and fans of ADO Den Haag.

The shortlist was initially compiled by a FIFA panel, which consisted of Zvonimir Boban, Marta, Gabriel Batistuta and Vladimir Petkovic. Fans then voted in an online poll to select the winner.

Despite a strong challenge from the Iceland fans, whose slow clap has caught on with other supporters worldwide, the majority internet football bookmakers had made the Liverpool an Dortmund entry the overwhelming favorite to win the award.

The 27th anniversary of the Hillsborough disaster was the day after the match, making the rendition especially moving. It was certainly a worthy winner of this new award, and will be a hard act to follow.

Liverpool manager Jurgen Klopp, who has of course managed both clubs, said: “The LFC and BVB families should be very proud.”

He’s right. See for yourself.

Who do you think should be nominated for the Fans Award shortlist next year? Let us know your suggestions.